Peter Wallensteen on the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize


The 2014 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzay “for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.”

Peter Wallensteen is the Starmann Professor of Peace Research at the University of Notre Dame’s Kroc Institute and Senior Professor in the Department of Peace and Conflict Research at Sweden’s Uppsala University:

"The laureates come from India and Pakistan — two countries that have been engaged in conflict since 1947 and now equipped with nuclear weapons. Awarding the prize to individuals from both countries highlights their common concerns and challenges. Focusing on these shared challenges may help stimulate the dormant peace process in these two democratically run countries.

This year’s prize also highlights child labor and girls’ education. Both laureates already have focused the world’s attention on these issues. This year has been a difficult year for peace and thus the Nobel Committee brings attention to issues that are central to peace and justice, notably violence against young people.        

Kailash Satyarthi works in the Gandhian tradition of nonviolence, and is the first Indian to receive the Nobel Peace Prize. (Gandhi himself never received the award.) This year's prize is testimony to the continued value of nonviolent action.

Malala Yousafzay is the first Pakistani to receive the award. She survived an assassination attempt committed almost exactly two years ago. She is also the youngest person to receive the Prize and has been noted for her courage and ability to strongly impress a large audience, notably the UN General Assembly last year."

Contact: Peter Wallensteen, 574-631-0935,