Peace Studies Class of 2011 Honored

Author: Renée LaReau

The Kroc Institute honored 18 peace studies master's students and 58 undergraduates and presented special awards during commencement weekend events May 20-21. 

Students in the master's class of 2011 include: Ahmad Mahmud Al-Hadidi, Iraq; Chernor A. Bah, Sierra Leone; Alisher Bazarov, Turkmenistan; Karin Alexandra Brown, U.S.A.; Christina Buchhold, Germany; Rebecca Burns, U.S.A. Njuhi S. Chege, Kenya; Kelsey Davenport, U.S.A.; Saideh Eshragi, Iran; Nicole Enns Fehr, Canada; H.M. Nuwan Herath, Sri Lanka; Michael Lindburg, U.S.A.; Stephen Oola, Uganda; Young Sun Park, Korea; Andrew J. Peterson, U.S.A; Fasihun Nisa Qadri, India; Sana Rasul Rais, Pakistan; Anna Zaros, U.S.A.

Kroc's undergraduate class included 30 peace studies majors and 28 peace studies minors. Graduates Shannon Coyne and Shanna Gast were presented with Kroc Institute's Yarrow Award, given annually to outstanding peace studies seniors. Coyne, a political science and Arabic studies major, plans join the Peace Corps and pursue a career in international development. Gast, an economics major with minors in peace studies and philosophy, politics, and economics, will join a global management consulting firm in Chicago. She plans to pursue a career in public policy.

Kaitlyn Kiger, a theology and peace studies major, won a first place award for her senior seminar essay “Creation Powers: Art, Spirit and Storytelling in Social Healing.” Colin Littlefield, a political science major with a peace studies minor, won a second place award for his essay, “The Compatibility of American Law and the International Criminal Court.”   

Contact: Renée LaReau,, 574-631-5098