Kroc Institute welcomes 15 new Master of Global Affairs, International Peace Studies students

Author: Lisa Gallagher

The Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies, part of the University of Notre Dame’s Keough School of Global Affairs, welcomes 15 new students pursuing a master of global affairs with a concentration in international peace studies (MGA-IPS). These students are part of the Keough School’s MGA Class of 2025.

The MGA program integrates rigorous coursework, close engagement with policymakers and practitioners, multi-disciplinary faculty and students from around the world, and extended field work with global and local partner organizations.

MGA-IPS students receive full funding and a living stipend from the Kroc Institute. The concentration builds on the Master’s in International Peace Studies program previously administered by the Kroc Institute for 30 years.

“This new group of Kroc Scholars brings a unique combination of practical experiences, commitment and diverse backgrounds that will enrich our Institute and classrooms,” said Norbert Koppensteiner, director of the international peace studies concentration (Master of Global Affairs) and associate teaching professor of peace studies at the Keough School of Global Affairs. “It is a privilege to be working with them.”


MGA-IPS students come to Notre Dame with a variety of prior professional experiences, including with governments and international organizations, local and international NGOs, civil society organizations and social movements, as well as within the sectors of journalism, education and law.

The Class of 2025 includes students from 11 countries including Afghanistan, Burundi, Cameroon, Colombia, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Iraq, Kenya, Myanmar, Ukraine, and the United States.

This year’s incoming students are:

Iqbal Ahmad, Afghanistan

Momodou B. Bah, The Gambia

Nanyeni Glory Diotoh, Cameroon

Diana Seng Hkawn, Myanmar

Mercy Jerop, Kenya

Binar Faeq Karim, Kurdistan Region of Iraq

Hay Mar Khaing, Myanmar

Khrystyna Kozak, Ukraine

Sara Laine, United States

Negalegne Mequanint Mandefiro, Ethiopia

Henri Fabrice Ndayizeye, Burundi

Rebecca Nindorera, Burundi

Megan Reamy, United States

Maria Camila Salamandra Arriaga, Colombia

Laura Camila Suárez Rodríguez, Colombia / Costa Rica

Welcome, students!