Kroc Honors 47 Seniors in Peace Studies


At a campus ceremony on May 18, the Kroc Institute honored 47 graduating seniors from Notre Dame and Saint Mary’s College who completed a major or minor in peace studies in addition to their primary major.

Notre Dame President Emeritus Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C.; Kroc Institute Director Scott Appleby; undergraduate director George A. Lopez, the Hesburgh Chair in Peace Studies; undergraduate program manager Anna Van Overberghe; and Kroc alumni director Anne Hayner addressed the students and their families and friends.

The students, one-third of whom graduated with honors (Summa Cum Laude or Magna Cum Laude) represented a wide range of fields and interests in the liberal arts, sciences, and business. Each of the following students came to the stage in McKenna Hall to accept a certificate representing their academic work and commitment to peace and justice:

Margaret Adams, History/Peace Studies

Sarah Allen, Political Science/Peace Studies

Beatriz Almeida, Program of Liberal Studies/Peace Studies

Kenenna Amuzie, Theology/Peace Studies

Mary Atwood, Theology/Peace Studies

Mary Braun, Pre-Professional Studies/Peace Studies

Michael Byrnes, Political Science/Peace Studies

Joseph Cannova, Biological Sciences/Peace Studies

William Cernanec, Spanish/Peace Studies

Christian Chelsky, Political Science/Peace Studies

Grace Chung, English/Peace Studies

Rosabelle Conover, Pre-Professional Studies/Peace Studies

Eamon El-Sawaf, IT Management/Peace Studies

Erika Hansen, English/Peace Studies

Erik Helgesen, Environmental Sciences/Peace Studies

Jillian Hirsch, Management Consulting/Peace Studies

Grace Johnson, Film, Television and Theatre/Peace Studies

Olivia Kilian, Political Science/Peace Studies (Saint Mary’s College)

Karyn Knecht, Environmental Sciences/Peace Studies

Laura Larkin, Anthropology/Peace Studies

Catherine Latell, English/Peace Studies

Amanda Lester, Communications/Peace Studies (SMC)

Megan Loney, Humanistic Studies/Peace Studies (SMC)

John Mannion, Political Science/Peace Studies

Walter McCormick, Political Science/Peace Studies

Keelin McGee, Political Science/Peace Studies (SMC)

Sean McGrath, Sociology/Peace Studies

Anne McKeon, American Studies/Peace Studies

Helen Miller, Pre-Professional Studies/Peace Studies

Carleigh Moore, Anthropology/Peace Studies

James Moore, History/Peace Studies

Clare Mundy, American Studies/Peace Studies

Nhu Phan, Management Consulting/Peace Studies

Sarah Philbin, History/Peace Studies

Ashley Satterlee, Political Science/Peace Studies

Erin Scott, Anthropology/Peace Studies

Charlotte Seasly, Anthropology/Peace Studies

Rebecca Sinclair, Anthropology/Peace Studies

Thomas Skelly, Accountancy/Peace Studies

Kathleen Smith, Political Science/Peace Studies

Adriana Turner, Marketing/Peace Studies

Kaitlyn Uhl, Political Science/Peace Studies

David Upjohn, English/Peace Studies

Veronica Vos, Political Science/Peace Studies

Elizabeth Walsh, Marketing/Peace Studies

Jeanne Weber, Management Consulting/Peace Studies

Melissa Wrapp, Anthropology/Peace Studies

Also at the ceremony, Professor Lopez presented Melissa Wrapp and Patrick McCormick with the Kroc Institute’s annual Yarrow Award. He also announced that Melissa Wrapp won a first place award for her senior seminar essay, "Sensitizing the ‘Senseless’: “Reconceptualizing the Riot as a Means of Strategic Peacebuilding,” and that Kathryn Lattell won a second place award for her senior seminar paper, “Learning from the Past: Analysis of UN/U.S. Intervention in Somalia (1992-1997) and How It Can Affect Today’s Crisis.”

The undergraduate program in peace studies began in 1984, two years before the Kroc Institute was established by Fr. Ted Hesburgh and philanthropist Joan B. Kroc. Since then, more than 700 undergraduates in the program — pursing supplementary (“second”) majors or interdisciplinary minors — have graduated and pursued careers directly related to or enriched by learnings in peace and justice.

Congratulations Class of 2012!

Contact: George A. Lopez,, 574-631-6972