Senior Seminar Essay Award

2014 Essay2014 Senior Seminar Essay Award Winners Dylan Nugget and Lisa Taylor.

The Kroc Institute’s Senior Seminar Essay Award is awarded each year during Commencement Weekend to two graduating peace studies students who have demonstrated excellence in peace studies research and academic writing.

Any peace studies senior who completes a section of the foundational course IIPS 43101 Peace Studies Senior Seminar is eligible for the award. The instructor of each seminar nominates the single paper judged to be the strongest example of peace studies scholarship from that section. A committee of peace studies faculty reviews the nominated papers and selects first place and second place recipients.

The award winners are announced to students and guests at the Kroc Institute’s graduation reception and presented with award certificates. Both recipients also receive a monetary award, and their essays are used by the program as models of good undergraduate scholarship in peace studies.

Essay Award Recipients


Because of the disruption of classes due to COVID-19, the Senior Seminar Essay Award was not given in 2020. 


Melinda Davis (First place)
Erin Pettigrew (Second Place)


Francesco Tassi (First place)
Brooke Ely (Second place) 


Dominique Duverney (First place)
Danielle Aase (Second place)


Theresa Rinaldo (First Place)
Teresa Kennedy (Second Place)
Huili Chen (Honorable Mention)


Elizabeth Spesia (First Place)
Brenna Gautam (Second Place)


Dylan Nugent (First Place)
Lisa Taylor (Second Place)


Athena Hughes (First Place)
Suzanna Pratt (Second Place)


Melissa Wrapp (First Place)
Catherine Latell (Second Place)


Kaitlyn Kiger (First Place)
Colin Littlefield (Second Place)


Sarah Kettler (First Place)
Kristi Haas (Second Place)


Christina Partyka (First Place)
Maureen Howard (Second Place)